College funding
FAFSA 2026-27: What Counts, What Doesn't, and How the Student Aid Index Actually Treats Your Money
The form is shorter than it used to be. The strategy is not.
The short answer. The FAFSA now produces a Student Aid Index (SAI), not an Expected Family Contribution. For the 2026-27 form it uses 2024 tax income, counts parent assets at about 5.64% and student assets at 20%, and does not count retirement accounts, primary home equity, life insurance cash value, or, new this year, a family-owned business with 100 or fewer employees or a family farm. A family of four has an income protection allowance of $44,880. Pell Grants now stop entirely at an SAI of $14,790. What you own, and in whose name, changes the number.
Families with a junior or senior in high school are about to file the form that decides a large part of what college costs them, and most of them will file it the way they file taxes: fill in the boxes, hit submit, hope. The boxes have rules. Knowing the rules a year in advance is worth real money. Here is the 2026-27 version in plain English.
SAI, not EFC
The Expected Family Contribution is gone. The FAFSA now produces a Student Aid Index. It is used the same way, colleges subtract it from their cost of attendance to determine need, but the formula is simpler, it can go as low as negative $1,500, and it no longer gives a discount for having two children in college at the same time. That last change hit a lot of families in 2024 and it is still true.
What the formula looks at
Income comes straight from the IRS, two years back: the 2026-27 form uses 2024 tax returns. There is an income protection allowance before any income counts; for a family of four in 2026-27 it is about $44,880 for parents, and $11,770 for the student’s own income. Above the allowance, parent income is assessed on a sliding scale that tops out at 47 percent.
Assets are valued on the day you file. Parent assets are assessed at 5.64 percent: every $10,000 in a parent’s brokerage or savings account adds roughly $564 to the SAI. Student assets are assessed at 20 percent: the same $10,000 in the student’s name adds $2,000. Same money, four times the effect.
What is not reported
This is the list that matters, because it is where planning happens without any trickery. The FAFSA does not ask about:
- Retirement accounts: 401(k), 403(b), TSP, traditional and Roth IRAs, pensions.
- The equity in your primary home.
- The cash value of life insurance and qualified annuities.
- New for 2026-27: the net worth of a family-owned business with 100 or fewer full-time employees, and a family farm you live on. Self-employed parents whose business value inflated their aid number in prior years get relief this year.
- 529 plans owned by grandparents or anyone other than the parent or student, and since the formula change, distributions from those plans no longer count as student income.
Two cautions. Roth IRA withdrawals, even of contributions, count as untaxed income on the FAFSA. And the CSS Profile, used by a few hundred mostly private colleges, does ask about home equity, business value and sometimes life insurance cash value. Know which form your child’s schools use.
The new Pell cliff
Before this year, families near the cutoff could receive a partial Pell Grant. For 2026-27 the rule is hard: an SAI at or above $14,790 receives no Pell Grant at all. Families near that line have a real reason to understand what moves the number, because a small change in reported assets can be the difference between some grant and none.
Where life insurance comes into this
I am a life insurance professional, so let me be direct about where this product belongs in a college conversation and where it does not. Cash value life insurance is not reported on the FAFSA. That makes it one of the places a family with a permanent insurance need and money beyond their retirement contributions can hold conservative savings without raising the SAI. It is not a reason to buy a policy, and anyone who tells you to move your child’s college fund into a policy to “hide it from the FAFSA” is selling you something at the expense of the actual plan. Protection first, always; a parent’s death is the single largest threat to a college plan, and a term policy is how you handle it. The FAFSA treatment of cash value is a secondary benefit for families where a permanent policy already makes sense.
What I would do this fall
- Identify which forms each school uses: FAFSA only, or FAFSA plus CSS Profile.
- Run a draft SAI now with the federal estimator, using 2024 income and today’s assets, so you know where you stand relative to the Pell line and to each school’s cost.
- Check whose name savings are in. Student-owned money at 20 percent is the most common fixable mistake; a custodial 529 fixes it.
- Time large transactions. Assets count on filing day. A bonus that lands the day before you file counts; the day after, it does not.
- File early. Some state and institutional aid is first-come.
None of this is exotic. It is reading the rules before the game, which is what a plan is.
Questions people ask
What replaced the EFC on the FAFSA?
The Student Aid Index, or SAI, beginning with the 2024-25 form. It works similarly but can go as low as negative $1,500, no longer divides by the number of children in college, and uses a simplified formula pulled directly from IRS data.
Which assets are not reported on the FAFSA?
Retirement accounts (401(k), 403(b), IRA, Roth IRA, pensions), the equity in your primary home, the cash value of life insurance and qualified annuities, and, beginning with the 2026-27 form, the net worth of a family-owned business with 100 or fewer full-time employees and a family farm you live on. The CSS Profile used by some private colleges asks about several of these.
Whose name should college savings be in?
Parent-owned assets, including parent-owned 529 plans, are assessed at about 5.64%. Student-owned assets such as UTMA/UGMA accounts are assessed at 20%. Moving custodial money into a custodial 529 converts it to a parent-rate asset. Grandparent-owned 529s are not reported on the FAFSA at all, and since the simplified formula, distributions from them no longer count as student income.
When should I file the 2026-27 FAFSA?
As early as possible after it opens, typically October 1, because some state and institutional aid is first-come. The form uses 2024 income and asset values as of the day you file, so the timing of large deposits, sales or gifts matters.
Sources
This article is general education about federal financial aid rules as published for the 2026-27 award year. Rules and dollar limits change annually and institutional aid uses different formulas. Not tax, legal or investment advice; work with your own advisors and the college's financial aid office.
By